The draft Competition Rules for the ILB have now been published and can be accessed by clicking on the link below.  Please note that these are draft rules only and will not come into affect until approved by council.
Comments and suggestions on the draft rules can be sent to the ILB General Secretary by the 1st October. These will then be reviewed by the Management Committee, and there will be a Council meeting on the afternoon of Saturday 14th October, when we hope to finalise the Rules.
The rules can be viwed by clicking on



Irish Lawn Bowls (ILB) was formed in March 2023 following a merger of the Bowling League of Ireland (BLI) and the Ladies Bowling League of Ireland (LBLI) and is recognised by Sport Ireland as the National Governing Body for the sport of lawn bowling in the Republic of Ireland. 
Bowling is an all-island sport and  the ILB is one of four organisations affiliated to the overall governing bodies, the  Irish Bowling Association (IBA) and the Irish Women’s Bowling Association  (IWBA).  It is also affiliated to the Irish Sports Federation.
There are twenty seven bowling clubs affiliated to the ILB serving almost two thousand members. They are mostly located in the greater Dublin area including Wicklow, Meath and Kildare along with clubs in Cork, Sligo and Waterford. Eleven of these clubs play on traditional grass surfaces while the remainder have artificial or synthetic surfaces with one club having both. Many clubs are attached to other sporting facilities like tennis or rugby clubs or leisure complexes.
Members, both male and female, have represented Ireland at international events  and we anticipate being involved in the  World Bowls Championship in Australia in the Autumn. Four  bowlers are representing Ireland in the World Deaf Championships in Edinburgh in September 2023.

Submit League, Cup, and Competition Results

The ILB wish to express their appreciation to Cronin Movers Group who have been extremely generous sponsors of the score cards for the ILB.  This sponsorship is available to all clubs. They are also the main sponsor for our regional youth academy, The Leinster Lions.    

You can access their website at 


Laws of the Game of Bowls

The Laws of the Sport of Bowls are subject to copyright as detailed in the content.  You can view the laws by clicking on the attached photograh.  If you require a paper version of the laws copies of the  booklet can be obtained from the Secretary of the Irish Bowling Association (IBA).  See 

IBA Honorary Secretary

for contact details.

ILB Blog

To Print a Document from this website

In order to print any of the documents on this website just click on the menu button on the bottom left of the document and select print, see below.  The options will vary slightly depending on whether the file is an Excel, Word, or  PDF file.


End of an Era

At an EGM last night held in Dun Laoghaire Bowling Club it was decided to wind up the All Weather Bowling Association. It was also decided that the assets of the Association be transferred to the ILB. The ILB Management Committee greatly appreciate  the work done by Ron Prince and his fellow committee members over the last 21 years or so in providing competitive bowling  on a mixed gender basis during the winter season.
The ILB League Secretary will now draw up the fixture list for the forthcoming season and it is hoped to publish this in the near future.  This season there will be Wednesday Veterans Leagues as well as the standard Saturday league.  The leagues will be run under the ILB competition rules when they are adopted by the ILB council.

Mildred Sargent RIP

We regret we have to inform members of the death of  Mildred Sargent of Kenilworth Bowling Club.  Mildred is a former President of the IWBA.  Our condolences to her family..

Ladies Junior Cup Final

The Ladies Junior Cup Final between Bray and Clontarf will take place in Herbert Park on Sunday 10th September at 2.30pm.  We wish both teams all the best in the final.

Guide to this website


If you are having problems finding your way around this website hopefully the guide below will help you find what you are looking for.

Website Guide

Map of Bowling Clubs within the ILB

Click on the “view larger map” button at the top right of picture for more details.  Note the details are what the individual club has put on Google and may not always be a 100% correct.